© 2019 AIA Triangle, North Carolina

Criteria – Design Award


The purpose of the AlA Triangle Design Awards is to recognize and encourage exceptional designs in the field of architecture and executed by members of AlA Triangle.


Eligible entries must be authored by a member or associate member of AlA Triangle. Entries can have any location, but the design must have been executed in an AlA Triangle member office. An entrant may enter more than one submission. Eligibility includes the following:

Projects must have been constructed on or after January 1, 2013.

Projects include ones not yet completed but scheduled to be under construction this year. These entries must have been commissioned for compensation by clients with the means and intention to execute the proposed design.

Note: Projects that have received recognition in previous AIA Triangle Design Awards programs are not eligible. However, award-winning unbuilt projects may be re-submitted as built/completed projects. Unbuilt/Commissioned projects are eligible to receive Merit Awards only.

Awards Criteria

All entries will be judged on the basis of their architectural design excellence. The AIA Triangle Design Awards program promotes excellence in design regardless of project type. Jurors will be asked to consider important issues/challenges particular to each project type. However, all entries will be judged collectively.

The jury will decide the number of awards to be given and will confer two levels of award:


Certificates for all award winning entries will be presented at the awards reception. It is important to have a representative from the winning firm present to accept the award.

Note: Award winners will NOT be notified prior to Awards Reception. Winners will receive three certificates: one for the architect, one for the owner and one for the contractor. Additional certificates will be available at the expense of the award recipient.

Exhibition / Publicity

The AIA Triangle Awards Committee intends to publish the entries receiving awards. All entries will be posted on this web site under Awards. All entries will be exhibited at the Awards Reception.
Drawings and photographs shall not be restricted against publication. It is the entrant’s responsibility to clear all drawings and photographs for release by the AIA Triangle Awards Committee which will assume no responsibility for copyrights or photographic fees. The photographs for each award winning entry will be used for unrestricted newspaper, magazine, and website publicity. Credit must be given to the photographer by the entrant.

Deadlines / Cost

Early Registration Begins February 01 – $185
Standard Registration Begins February 08 – $235
Submission Deadline February 15th


AIA Triangle collaborates with AIA North Carolina for Design Awards submissions.
Click here
to submit through AIA NC.